You knew.

Our feet memorised the path to the cave,
Possessed all the virtues that god never gave.
And at that moment, in the blink of an eye,
You knew it would be inevitable to say goodbye.

Stilted looks but it didn’t matter to us
Stifling laughs on the backseat of the bus,
And as you wiped the dust from the leatherbound book,
You knew how long it would take to forget that look.

Do you think they knew? When they looked at the keys?
Do you think they knew the origin of those memories?
Because even if the devil himself would tell me yes,
I know that only you knew what we were at our best.

Summer left us all alone and sad
Heroics and poignant like we were actually mad.
How the last aster rested on the ground,
When you knew that in the end we would drown.

I thought I would like to ask for answers from you,
Why you didn’t say a word as we started anew,
But silence has a way to question every wit,
And I alone had to learn that I had a bad habit to quit

-N